Skip to content

“I’ve just been really busy..”: Claiming Busyness

04/23/2009

“How’s it goin’ man?”

“Alright, not bad, I’ve just been really busy this week..”

I find myself saying this more and more.  It’s actually a really bad excuse for a lot of things.  I mean, in the real world you can get a doctor’s note or claim the death of a loved one to miss or get out of something.  But I’m finding that in college life all you really need to is say that you’re “busy.”

But as I look at and model my life after those in leadership at my church and my good friends that I look up to, there is never a chance to claim “busyness.”  Things are done without the slightest complaint, and life is lived with no frills.  Efficiency.

God certainly warns us not to be idle (1 Thess 5:14) and there’s certainly something to be said about commitment to things/ministries and the necessary excellence (col 3:23) that is assumed with everything we do.

But what I’m talking about is when we CLAIM “busyness,” when really there’s not a whole lot goin’ on.  Yeah, I’m talking about the TV show we need to keep up with, or the facebook pics we just have to look at.

Oh, but then I’m too busy to do my small group homework.  Oh, and yeah sorry I can’t eat with you cause I’m busy.  Sorry, can’t time talking with you (hmm that might lead up to a Gospel conversation, but, eh, oh well..)

Bottom line: Re-examine your time.  No need to do a little chart and cross things out like they have you do at high school summer camp, but really strive to tend toward things that matter in your use of time.  Talk to people.  Share the Gospel.  Do ministry.  Read the Word.  Worship in song.  Glorify Him with your time!  Invest your time in eternity.

1 Peter 4:7-11 (NASB)

7The end of all things is near; therefore, be of sound judgment and sober spirit for the purpose of prayer.

8Above all, keep fervent in your love for one another, because love covers a multitude of sins.

9Be hospitable to one another without complaint.

10As each one has received a special gift, employ it in serving one another as good stewards of the manifold grace of God.

11Whoever speaks, is to do so as one who is speaking the utterances of God; whoever serves is to do so as one who is serving by the strength which God supplies; so that in all things God may be glorified through Jesus Christ, to whom belongs the glory and dominion forever and ever. Amen.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Esther permalink
    04/25/2009 9:53 pm

    HI MATT!

  2. 04/26/2009 12:14 am

    why are you such a stud?

Leave a Reply

