Skip to content

Jealousy and God’s Sovereignty

11/17/2009

I’ve come to realize lately that I get jealous really easily.  Over stupid things.  Okay and I guess some of the things aren’t so stupid.  But that’s just because I prioritize them.  Probably wrongly.

The point is, lately I’ve been very easily provoked to jealousy.

I’ve been thinking lately about jealousy and it’s pertinence to God’s sovereignty.

-1 Corinthians 13 describes love (in the context of spiritual gifts and their use/encouragement within the church) as not envying, not seeking its own.

-Galatians 5:26 puts jealousy and conceit on the same platform

Our pastor Justin McKitterick’s been preaching through humility, and one of his latest sermons was on humility in light of the sovereignty of God.

So I conclude: my jealousy is pure selfishness and a lack of improper trust in the sovereignty of God.  Scary.

I’ll be back soon, I’m running to the cross real quick.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

