Skip to content

Hands-Free Worship

02/09/2010

Psalm 47:1

1 Clap your hands, all peoples!
Shout to God with loud songs of joy!
2For the LORD, the Most High, is to be feared,
a great king over all the earth.

Psalm 63:3-4

3Because your steadfast love is better than life,
my lips will praise you.
4So I will bless you as long as I live;
in your name I will lift up my hands.

Confession time.  I’ve been taking something for granted.  Pretty much my whole life.

It hit me one time on a Friday night– singing, playing guitar, leading God’s people in corporate worship.  The key was, though, that I was playing guitar.  For those of you unsure as to what the wonderful workings of a guitar involve: it takes two hands to play.  Most of the time.

It hit me that on Sunday mornings, when I get to worship facing the stage, I don’t have a guitar.  I have my two hands free!  I have continually taken for granted the fact that by Scripture, we are to clap our hands and lift our hands in worship to the Lord.  Not only are we supposed to, we get to.  On Friday nights, I don’t get to do that!

Don’t get me wrong, I love playing guitar as a way to honor the Lord in worship music on Friday nights.  This isn’t to highlight the fact that I’m not “hands-free” on Fridays, but instead the fact that it is such a liberating honor and privilege to not only be able to sing on Sunday mornings but to lift my hands and clap my hands unto the Lord!

So many times in the past I have been too hesitant, too proud, or too ashamed to lift my hands or clap my hands unto the Lord as an act of worship: I have been too hesitant, too proud, and too ashamed to obey!

One Comment leave one →
  1. 02/09/2010 9:47 pm

    yessssss join the charismatic section! haha jk. sort of. what a great realization bro 🙂

Leave a Reply

