Skip to content

On Life Without a Computer, Part 3 #firstworldproblems

02/05/2012

Another thought from the months spent without a computer:

#3 Computers can paralyze us and keep us from important and basic aspects of life.

This one’s a simple one.  Proof by association, negative correlation style.

I sometimes like to visualize myself in certain situations.  To get an “outside” thought of what I might look like to someone else.  Some introspection going on there, I guess.  I remember during this time, a distinct picture I had in my mind was one of myself sitting on the couch. Staring blankly at the computer screen.  Computer glow on my face.  For hours.  Headphones on.  My hands are the only parts of my body moving.

Paralysis.

I know I should probably meet with that small group guy but I can wait till he initiates… or maybe after this video… I should probably read that passage again… well I guess I’ll open a tab of it so I can do it after I read through some tweets… (look up and say ‘hi’ to apartmentmate)… yeah, I’ll talk to him more later… (click on related video)… (click on related video)… (click on related video)… (click on related video)… (click on related video)… (tweet nonsense)… I guess I’ll just do laundry tomorrow instead… I guess I’ll just meet with that guy tomorrow too… Man, tomorrow’s gonna be busy… Sometimes I think I commit to too much ministry stuff… (click on related video)… (click on related video)… (click on related video)… I really don’t want to look at the time right now…

Paralysis.

Thinking about how life was with a computer made me realize the stark difference the machine made.  With a computer, I was paralyzed every day for a few hours– unwilling to interact with people in real life, too lazy and comfortable to do the things I should have been doing, and unable to think developed thoughts.  A constant stream of information and amusement.  Without a computer, I started to notice those formerly absent things happening: much more face-to-face interaction with people around me, Bible reading beyond the norm, more reading in general, actual personal times of prayer and worship, and thinking through life issues.  There was nothing hanging over my head that I “had” to do, nothing to paralyze me.

Life with a computer had been constant stream of emails, instant messages, tabs, notifications, and Google documents.  Without a computer, it was no longer that.  No longer paralyzed.  It was alive; it was dynamic.  It was productive.  The important and basic aspects of life were actually important again.  I had to actually operate in the realm of reality again, and boy was it refreshing.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

